Art of the Blog

The class blog of the Art of the Blog, Loft Literary Center, Spring 2010

  • Categories

  • Archives

Decanter

Posted by moff0025 on March 9, 2010

In the middle of January,

I took a trip to San Francisco

with 2 friends.

We met my cousin

for dinner at a hip seafood place.

My midwest appearance didn’t seem hip enough to be there.

My cousin brought a bottle of wine

for the table to share with dinner.

We chatted with the server about the bottle,

and he asked “would you like a decanter?”

“No,” my cousin replied.

Then we asked to place our order.

He said, “would you like a decanter?”

Again, we said no.

The bottle was open, so it was already getting

the oxygen it needed to placed

into our bellies for the evening.

But that didn’t stop him.

Again, and again,

and again,

he asked “would you like a decanter?”

We thought, we either have a really

good bottle of wine

or we look like we have no

idea what we are doing!

Why was this so important to the server?

So, the decanter

became the joke of the weekend.

I soon

will be sending

my cousin a thank you gift:

A Decanter…

Leave a comment